Adobe PhotoShop - Merge Your Layers But Preserve Your Layer Styles (Photoshop 6/7/CS)


Have you ever tried to merge a layer with the layer below it and lost all of the effects applied to that upper layer? This is because when you choose Merge Down from the Layers palette's pop-up menu, Photoshop only applies the blending mode of the bottom layer to the merged version. However, if you select Merge Visible, and hide any layers that you don't want combined, all of your blending modes are preserved and your merged layer will look exactly as it does onscreen.

Go back